Creating ownership and economic opportunity.

Who Are We?

We’re a community development credit union. We serve anyone seeking affordable, responsible financial services, but are particularly committed to serving low-wealth and underserved communities and families.  We operate through four divisions – Community Trust, Community Trust Prospera, Second Federal, and Butte Federal. 

Self-Help Federal Credit Union was formed in 2008 to build a network of retail credit union branches to operate on a scale uncommon in the community development industry. Through a series of mergers, acquisitions, and new branch launches, in both California and Illinois, we are building a community development credit union that aims to provide high-impact financial services to working-class communities.

Self-Help Federal now has 22 branches, nearly $600 million in assets, and serves over 70,000 people.  We are committed to delivering safe and affordable savings and transparently-priced transaction accounts and a full suite of loans – small dollar, citizenship, unsecured consumer, auto, and mortgage – often to borrowers who could not access responsible services elsewhere.

Self-Help Federal is part of the Self-Help family of non-profit organizations with a common mission and leadership.  Over our 34-year history, Self-Help has learned that access to responsible savings, loans, and transactions is key to financial security, family healthy, and improved opportunity for low-income families.

Self-Help has delivered $6.4 billion in financing through almost 90,000 loans to families, individuals, and organizations across the nation.